



Excise 20: Bringing Alcohol into Colorado for Personal Consumption

GENERAL INFORMATION

This FYI explains an excise tax exemption for alcohol beverages brought into the State of Colorado for personal consumption.

Limits on Exemptions

Any individual 21 years of age or older entering Colorado from another state or foreign country can bring with them the following amounts of alcohol beverages without liability for Colorado excise tax:

- 9 Liters or less of Vinous Liquor (wine);
- 6 Liters or less of Spirituous Liquor;
- 2.25 Gallons (288 oz) or less of Hard Cider; and
- 2.25 Gallons (288 oz) or less of Malt Liquor (beer).

The alcohol beverages brought into Colorado must be for personal consumption only and not for resale or other commercial purposes.

Amounts in Excess of Exemption Limits

If an individual brings alcohol beverages into Colorado for personal use in excess of the limits stated above, the individual must file a Personal Excise Tax Return for Alcohol Beverages (DR 0449) and pay the applicable Colorado excise tax. Excise tax applies only to the amounts brought into Colorado in excess of these limits. The applicable tax rates are:

- \$0.08/gallon for beer and hard cider;
- \$0.0733/liter for wine: and
- \$0.6026/liter for spirits.

Colorado imposes a Vinous Surcharge known as the Wine Development Fee. The surcharge is \$.01 (one cent) per liter on all wine and must be reported on form DR 0449, line 4.

Filing and Payment

The Personal Excise Tax Return for Alcohol Beverages (DR 0449) is available on the department's Web site at <u>Tax.Colorado.gov/liquor-tax-forms</u>. The instructions are included with the form.

Please make sure your name, address and Social Security number are entered correctly on the form and that the form is signed and dated. Wine (vinous) and spirits are taxed by the liter. Hard cider and malt liquor (beer) are taxed by the gallon. Include the one-cent per liter Wine Development Fee for any wine reported. The period is the month and year the alcohol is brought into Colorado. Make checks payable to the Colorado Department of Revenue.

Make two copies of both the return and payment if sending by mail. Keep one copy with your shipment, and keep one copy on your person when you go through customs, if arriving from a foreign country.

Call 303-205-8287 with any questions regarding bring personal liquor stock into Colorado.

Send completed form and payment to: Colorado Department of Revenue Denver, CO 80261-0009

FYIs represent a good faith effort to provide general information concerning a variety of Colorado tax topics in simple and straightforward language. By their nature, however, FYIs cannot and do not address all taxpayer situations nor do they provide a comprehensive overview of Colorado's tax laws. For this reason, FYIs are not binding on the Colorado Department of Revenue, nor do they replace, alter, or supersede Colorado law and regulations.

A taxpayer seeking additional guidance regarding the tax consequences of a particular transaction or factual scenario can request a Private Letter Ruling (PLR) or General Information Letter (GIL). Requests for PLRs and GILs must comply with certain requirements, which are currently set forth at 1 Code of Colorado Regulations 201-1, Rule 24-35-103.5. PLRs are binding upon the Department only with respect to the specific taxpayer that requested the PLR. GILs are for informational purposes only and are not binding on the Department.